The goddess of democracy – David Munyon, Beijing Dreams

(David Munyon / S.P. Standley) This song is dedicated to all who seek democracy. I musta been dreamin’ on in Beijing, China On a dark night, Tiananmen Square I could hear a million Chinese mothers cryin’ And I believe I could hear Buddah swear I saw the people with their own rock n’ roll music I saw the people gettin’ free of ‘dem chains I saw the people with several pair of Levi’s I saw the people put the Party to it’s shame It’s a long road home And I think the Hope’s begun The Goddess of democracy She proved Mightier Than The Gun I musta been dreamin’ in Beijing, China On a fast bike, wind in my hair There’s a Lincoln, Lafayette and Thomas Jefferson There’s troops and APC’s in Washington’s glare ’cause ya’ wanna see children laughing and singing ’cause ya’ wanna earn more than fifteen bucks a month ’cause ya’ wanna be happy as a human being ’cause ya’ wanna have whatever you want for lunch – Chorus – I musta been dreamin’ in Beijing, China I was standing near a man with a freedom flag I was singin’ of his brave determination He was standing there intimidating a tank There’s a change being born to a Nation The roughest rain will bring it’s own reward You can try to beat the tar out of a spirit but the dreams in Beijing… they won’t be ingnored It’s a long road home and I think we already won The Goddess of democracy, she proved mightier than the gun I musta been dreamin’ in Beijing, China On a dark night Tiananmen Square I could hear a million Chinese Mothers weeping An’ I believe I could hear Buddah’s tears… David Munyon: Vocals, Acoustic Guitars Dony Wynn: Drums Anthony Crawford: Guitar, Background Vocals Dave Pomeroy: Fretless Bass

About this entry